According to FIFA, Messi, Samuel, Zanetti, Cambiasso, Milito, Mascherano, Tevez Gonzalo Higuain and scrambling to belong.

Eight Argentine players, led by Barcelona star Lionel Messi, part of the list prior to the "Dream Team 2010" prepared by the FIFA and officially unveiled on 10 January.

The list has 55 players who are candidates to join the "dream team" FIFA 2010 and Pro World XI will be announced at the FIFA gala in Zurich Golden Ball.

The eight candidates are Argentine Walter Samuel, Javier Zanetti, Esteban Cambiasso and Diego Milito (Internazionale of Italy), Lionel Messi and Javier Mascherano (Barcelona, Spain), Gonzalo Higuain (Real Madrid of Spain) and Carlos Tevez (Manchester City .)

The country with most players is Spain, with 10 players, followed by nine Brazilians, eight Argentines, six English, four Germans, three Dutch and three Italians in its sixth year, FIFA said.

As for the tournament, the Spanish League had 18 players, followed with 17 English Premier League, Italian Serie A German Bundesliga 15 and four.